Welcome to the Oxford University Sports Federation Blues Website.

We maintain a database of all Blues awarded to students at the University of Oxford and the Captain's details for each blue-status sport. These can be viewed on the 'Search Blues' and 'Current Captains' pages.

If you believe your details should be on this website, please contact the appropriate Captain or Sports President. If you are a current captain or president, please login through the 'Administration' link.

The current Sports Presidents are
Sports Federation President: Madeleine Sava, Hertford College
Mens President: Alexander Fraser, The Queen's College
Womens President: Sarah Payne, Worcester College

History of the Blue

The man who began the Varsity match tradition was Charles Wordsworth of Christ Church college Oxford, who in June 1827 arranged a two-day cricket match against Cambridge at Lords. The first Boat Race between the two universities was in 1829, and was rowed over 2 and a quarter miles between Hambleden Lock and Henley Bridge. The second Boat Race was not until 1836 which was rowed over more than double the distance, from Westminster Bridge upstream to Putney Bridge. It was in this race that one of the Cambridge oarsmen tied a light blue ribbon to the bows of the Cambridge boat (the colours of his school, Eton College). The colour dark blue was then ascribed to Oxford because it is the colour of Christ Church college, and the Oxford crew sported white jerseys with dark blue stripes during the race. These colours have remained over the years and now sportsmen who have represented Oxford in a Varsity match against Cambridge in a Full Blue sport are entitled to wear a dark blue blazer.